When you receive a copyright strike, YouTube has received a notification from a copyright owner to take down your video. Copyright strikes can negatively affect your channel.
NOTE: Deleting a video with a strike will not resolve the copyright strike
First Copyright Strikes
If you receive a copyright strike, YouTube is giving you a warning that your account is losing its good standing. The first copyright strike may affect some channel features, such as your ability to monetize or restricted access to the live stream feature. A copyright strike expires after 90 days as long as you complete YouTube’s Copyright School.
Second and Third Copyright Strike
If you receive a second strike before the first strike has expired, you will have to wait until the second strike has expired to restore your good account standing.
If you receive a third strike before the other strikes have expired, YouTube will terminate your account and remove all uploaded videos.
Get more information about the strike
You can find more information about the strike in your Creator Studio. Go to your Copyright Notices Page to get details about the strike. Check your account status and the strike expiry date on your YouTube Features Page.
Resolve a Copyright Strike
- You can wait for the strike to expire: Copyright strikes expire after 90 days. You need to complete YouTube’s Copyright School for the strike to expire.
- Ask for a retraction: You can reach out to the person who claimed your video and ask them to retract the strike
- Submit a counter-notification: If you think the strike was placed in error and your video was mistakenly removed, you can submit a counter-notification.
IMPORTANT: Please be aware that we are not able to remove any copyright strikes from your channel. We encourage all partners to refrain from uploading material that is not theirs. If you're unsure about the copyright of the content you are uploading, chances are, you shouldn't be uploading that content. Be safe! If numerous copyright strikes are placed on your YouTube Channel, it could jeopardize your YouTube Account and your network partnership. We hope this information will help you avoid that.
Community Guideline Strikes
If YouTube's reviewers are notified of a policy violation on your channel, you will receive a community guideline strike. When this happens, you will receive a notification that informs you if the violating video has been removed, the policy you have violated, the effect it will have, and the next steps to take. Please note that the first time this occurs, it will only be a warning. This warning will only happen once and will remain on your channel to ensure you don't go against policies in the future.
NOTE: Deleting a video with a strike will not resolve the community guideline strike.
First Community Guideline Strike
For one week, you'll lose access to a number of features including uploading (videos, live stream, or stories), creation of custom thumbnails or community posts, and editing of playlists. Although you'll regain access to the mentioned features after the week is up, the strike will remain on your channel for 90 days.
Second Community Guideline Strike
If you receive a second strike during the 90-day window from your first strike, you will not be able to post content for two weeks. If no other concerns arise, your ability to post will be restored at the end of the two week period. Just like the first strike, it will take 90 days for the second strike to expire.
Third Community Guideline Strike
Receiving a third strike in the 90-day window will result in your channel being terminated off of YouTube.
Resolve a Community Guideline Strike
If your channel received a strike by mistake, you can appeal the decision here.
IMPORTANT: BBTV cannot remove Community Guideline Strikes from your channel. In the future, ensure you're informed with the policies you need to abide by to eliminate the risk of receiving a strike.